i hate talking on the phone

Tuesday, April 18

Paperwork

So... this is my new blog. This entry (below) is from a few months ago, from another blog I started up but have since abandoned because they won't let me use photos and text together anymore...

I'm basically keeping this blog as a bit of a travel journal so that family and friends can check in here and see where we are. Plus, who likes getting breathless emails from Costa Rica when you're sitting at work in Redfern? I don't.

This way, I'll spare everyone the group emails and YOU can check in if/when you feel like it. I hope to update it with at least a photo every week... but I'll see how I go (the smarttraveller website advises you to be 'realistic' about telling family and friends how often you'll be in touch). I think that's pretty realistic. Maybe once I'm on holiday writing will seem less like work.

We leave the country in two weeks (!) on MAY 3RD. Hugh and I are going to Melbourne next Tuesday (25th) for a week for Huey's brother Adam and his fiancée Anna's wedding, which is on the 30th. We can't wait to see you Melbourne kids again... PLUS Adam and Hugh are wearing kilts, so I'll take some photos and get them up here. Their outfits have dagger holders and everything.

Anyway, this was in March sometime:

This week I'm organising visas and stuff for our trip. I just found out I need a new passport, we both need police checks done (AFP), as well as some expensive stamps on our birth certificates (called Apostille stamps). With six weeks till we go (May 3rd), we think that we will only be able to squeeze in two visas before then, so we're going for the Netherlands and Germany. Fingers crossed those police checks are clear... Anyway, here are our mugshots. May we never look so serious ever again.



The upshot of all this stuff is:

a) we got our Netherlands visas
b) my brother, NJ, got one too, just in case (we are travelling in Japan together, too)
c) we decided not to get German visas... every other Euro country you can get when you're over there, anyway
d) police checks were clear

Alrighty, that's it. I might put some of my recent stories up here if I get a chance too 'cause I've been lazy and forgetting to email them to you guys overseas.

9 Comments:

Blogger lisey said...

oh, that's annoying julzie, sorry.

by the way, the crap in my profile about my star sign and horse thing was NOT put up there by me... they asked for my birthday and next thing you know, you look like a stinking hippie.

3:45 PM  
Blogger lisey said...

Oh yeah, and also... DRINKS next monday night (next day is public holiday), all and sundry are invited. we'll make it somewhere local... um, um, um, i'll let you know. i think i might take this photo down... it's annoying me already

3:48 PM  
Blogger James Sharrock said...

argggggggggggg

Hey Lady!

Just got back from covering Inferno a 3 day black metal festival in Norway, the anti-Easter. It was unroooooool. So whats ya plans when ya coming to stay with Capn' Jimbo?

Silly Julz, you can just make a comment as Other or Anonymous and you don't have to make a profile

7:57 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Message received and understood.Ken

9:53 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hey Elise! It's Angie here. I love the whole idea (did you choose the green spots and all?). We'll definitely try come on monday night. Also we still on for Fri? I'll come to Newtown with the kiddies. Have a great day xxxx

10:18 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hey sweetpea, just wanted to say love ya do! Very georgous darlink!
Have a great wedding, love to Jordi and enjoy your luv in his kilt tee hee!
Talk soon, lovingxxx

12:13 PM  
Blogger Adam said...

Hey Elise.

Nice blog.

Technically there aren't any dagger holders. You just tuck it into your very long white sock. Although it does have a scabbard. But to compensate for the lack of holder, it's got a cool name - Sgian Dubj ('Skeen Doo'). Dunno what it means. Something like 'hidden knife' or something. Stabby!

11:23 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

hey love, hope you are looking forward to your Melbournian trip!
LOve the interviews your quite the talented writer, but we always knew that! Just wanted to tell you I loved the write ups, look forward to more!Take care, lovingxxx

12:53 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks Lord Shandooo - whoever you are!!! I'm not such a techo, and have never used these things before... old lady that i am. I've already forgotten my log on anyway!

2:10 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home